An Excellent Weekend for Transplanting! Gardener’s Journal 5/22/11

May 23, 2011 at 2:35 pm 3 comments

So the weather co-operated, at least for a couple of days, and I managed to get all my tomatoes, peppers and companion plants (that I started in the basement back in March) into their rightful places in the ground.  Hurrah! Now it is raining again, which is good in a way, since I spread some groundcover seed too – clover in the tomato beds and alyssum in the pepper/eggplant bed.  The rain will help their germination and for the seedlings to get settled in too.  However, I’m a bit concerned about the developing fruit which is susceptible to fungal diseases when they don’t get chance to dry out.

I was a bit sad at the start of the day since I had to remove a huge patch of comfrey from one of tomato beds (I had already transplanted some elsewhere) but the (native) bees really like the flowers on it and I was taking away their food.  Once it was dug out though I was glad I’d done it, so now all my veggie beds are free of perennials.  Don’t get me wrong though, I have plenty of perennial herbs and flowers around to attract the good bugs and feed the bees etc. – it just wasn’t very practical to have perennials in the annual beds.  The exception is my asparagus bed which is not in the “right” place since I missed the window of opportunity last year to move it to its planned permanent bed, but it is OK  where it is and it is producing..even my oldest son Torri likes it now!

That brings me to the bugs!  The battle has begun!!  I spotted (and squished) some asparagus beetles last week – this weekend the larvae was out, so I have been squishing them as I see them.  The flea beetles have left my radishes alone this year – which is highly unusual, but they have started to attack my seedlings and potatoes already.  Last bug moan – I spotted some kind of tiny caterpillar on the grape vine – I’m going to look that up and maybe spray it with Bt (when it stops raining).

Entry filed under: Gardener's Journal, May 2011.

Six Days of Rain So Far – Only Two More To Go! Gardener’s Journal 5/19/11 Stung at Last!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alysn Midgelow-Marsden  |  May 23, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Why not use the comfrey in a comfrey tunnel to make your own fantastic tomato plant food? Then it is not wasted!

    Reply
    • 2. winifredslittleacre  |  May 23, 2011 at 5:13 pm

      Don’t worry nothing is wasted in my garden! That is the reason I grow comfrey in the first place – I am interested in your method of fermenting comfrey – I’ve not heard it called a comfrey tunnel before – please send me details!

      Reply
      • 3. Alysn Midgelow-Marsden  |  May 23, 2011 at 6:05 pm

        I will send you an email of a scan which has the information we used.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar of Posts

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers


