Gardener’s Journal – 4/13/11

April 13, 2011 at 3:59 pm 2 comments

Hurray, the peas are coming up! Despite all this cold and rainy weather (and my impatience)!  The carrots also germinated under the board I had over them to stop the seeds getting washed away – but now I am worried about the effect the rain is having on them – they were a little spindly since they took me by surprise and germinated quicker than expected.  Time will tell if they make it – if they can get through today, they should be OK since we have a little break from the wet coming up tomorrow.

The seedlings in the basement are doing well – even my basil has germinated, usually I have difficulty with basil for some reason, but all the new seeds are coming up, the seed from last year is being a bit more temperamental – maybe basil seed doesn’t keep well – I’ll have to look that up.  I’m a bit afraid the lights aren’t bright enough, since there doesn’t seem to be a lot of growth from the plants once they get their first leaves.  Mike McGrath says you should change out the lamps every year, but I was trying to save the planet (and the dollars) by not doing that.  I heard on his show this week that the LED grow lights are pretty effective – I will look into those – good from an energy efficiency standpoint, probably not too easy on the pocket though.

I’m pleased with the transplanted lettuce and kale – all doing well in the garden, and the mache and other radish that I sowed last week is coming up too.  The garlic plants are going crazy – I sprayed them with some fish fertilizer a couple of weeks ago, I may do that again soon since I can’t quite be bothered put compost around each one of the plants.  Can’t wait to harvest the first asparagus – it is starting to shoot upwards now – I have to check my reference books to see what is the best way to harvest (first time for me) and how long to keep cutting, etc.

Entry filed under: April 2011, Gardener's Journal. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Gardener’s Journal – 4/5/11 Getting Busy! Gardener’s Journal 4/27/11

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gail Mrowinski  |  April 13, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    I think you have to cut it sparingly the first year and let most of it go to seed. It is a nice airy/ferny like backdrop in the garden for the summer. I uncovered my Mom’s down in York this weekend – she has had her patch for over 30 years. I also brought back rhubarb I hope to transplant.
    I an bumming my peas are NOT in, because the ground has been to wet to work and plant, hopefully this weekend.
    I was surprised to find that my thyme and sage plant has weathered the winter and is growing. I didn’t cover or anything so I am pleasently surprised.
    Thanks for inspiring the no time gardner!!!
    Gail

    Reply
    • 2. winifredslittleacre  |  April 13, 2011 at 8:28 pm

      Hi Gail, good news about your thyme & sage (I have to start again with my Sage – it bombed late last summer for some unknown reason – i’m growing from seed this year and will plant it in a different place). My asparagus has actually been in three years – this will be the first year I harvest it – that’s why its soo exciting! My rhubarb bombed last year too – all three plants I have tried have done – I should check the soil test again rhubarb requirements – maybe I am missing some essential element in the soil..
      Anyhow, I think Sunday is going to be good for planting peas – hopefully your soil will dry out a bit over the next couple of days.
      Good luck!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar of Posts

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers


