Gardener’s Journal – 3/22/11

March 23, 2011 at 2:21 am Leave a comment

After a short break to pull together the final pieces of organization for the Lehigh Valley Green Home & Building Expo and to work the event itself, I was back in the garden this afternoon – and what a beautiful day – 50F and sunny! (Snow is on the way tonight though). 

I did manage to plant my peas last Monday (3/15) – I needed to get them in, in order to hopefully have them ready before my trip to the UK in June.  I put in a total of 100 seeds of four different varieties – I soaked them all first for about half an hour and then rolled them in innoculant to help them fix nitrogen from the air. 

I started today by harvesting compost from a tumbler composter and my “Darlek”-like container.  I got a wheel barrow full and spread it under my fruit trees and around the asparagus – and guess what – there are some tiny spears starting to come up!  Hurrah! The compost adds some nutrients but also helps fights any diseases lurking around the base of the trees. 

On the seed starting front, I did sow some Early Girl tomatoes last week too – they have germinated already, so we are on the way to having tomatoes by July 4th!  (That’s the plan anyhow).  The cosmos and marigold seedlings are doing well, but the beets are not looking very happy and the parsley has not shown any signs of life.  I fed them using a weak solution of fish emulsion.  In the cold frame, things are going a bit better – pretty much everything I sowed is coming up – I thinned the seedlings out (by snipping off the weaker seedlings with scissors so as not to disturb the roots), but may have to transplant some of the lettuce into the garden to give everything enough room.

Entry filed under: Gardener's Journal, March 2011. Tags: , , , , , .

Gardener’s Journal – 3/11/11 That’s Good Luck Isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar of Posts

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers


